SAFA declares ABC Motsepe current standings final


The South African Football Association (SAFA) NEC has resolved to declare the 2019/2020 ABC Motsepe League in all 9 Provinces as final and according to the existing log standings.

Therefore, the nine Provincial teams currently occupying position number one, will proceed to the National Playoffs of the ABC Motsepe League which should be played by 7 November 2020. This is in order to determine the two teams which will be promoted to the GladAfrica Championship.

As a result of this decision, there will be no relegation in the ABC Motsepe League in the 2019/2020 season and the provincial playoffs for promotion to the ABC Motsepe League will proceed which will result to 18 teams in each Province for the 2020/2021 season.

In a circular sent out to all Provinces, SAFA CEO, Advocate Tebogo Motlanthe, said the Covid-19 pandemic has affected the development of football in the world in general and South African football’s non-professional league in the country.

‘’The non-professional football was forced to stop before the matches could be finished in March 2020. There is a need for SAFA to promote the two teams which will participate in the GladAfrica Championship in the 2020/2021 season.

“Also the registration period of players in the National Soccer League (NSL) is expected to close on 30 November 2020,” added Advocate Motlanthe.

‘’SAFA has to promote and not deny the opportunity to the teams which must be promoted to GladAfrica Championship. The two promoted teams must be afforded enough opportunity to register and add more quality players for sustainability in the professional ranks.

‘’The two teams must be provided with enough time to prepare for the resumption of the GladAfrica Championship,’’ concluded Advocate Motlanthe.

The SAFA CEO said all other amateur football was still suspended until the Association gets a green light to resume from the government.

The 9 Provincials winners: Bizana Pondo Chiefs (Eastern Cape), Mangaung Unite (Free State), Pretoria Callies (Gauteng), Mikhado (Limpopo), Mpumalanga United (Mpumalanga), Polokwane City Rovers (North West), Hungry Lions (Northern Cape), Zizwe United (Western Cape) &  Umvoti (KZN).


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *