Al Ahly win title number 42!!!


Cairo giants Zamalek were handed a 1-0 against Aswan, gifting their arch rivals, Al Ahly, their 42nd Egyptian Premier League trophy.

This was the Whites’ first game under Tarek Yehia, who’s currently the team’s caretaker since Patrice Carteron’s departure.

Aswan nearly opened the scoring just one minute in after Zamalek golakeeper, Mahmoud Genesh, stopped Haitham El-Fil’s attempt.

In the 13th minute Emam Ashour took Zamalek’s first shot on target of the game, forcing Aswan goalkeeper, Mosaad Awad, to make a double save.

Aswan responded 15 minutes later with Karim El-Tayeb’s shot on the edge of the penalty area, eventually saved by Genesh.

Aswan took the lead moments before the half-time whistle. Ibrahim Galal received a perfectly placed through ball with his head before putting it over Genesh, who was way off his line, with another header.

Zamalek got the opportunity to equalise two minutes into the second-half but Mostafa Mohamed’s header was brilliantly saved by Awad.

Emam Ashour took another shot from outside the 18-yard box but Awad was able to parry it again.

The White Knights continued their pressure and had their fair share attempts on goal but none of them troubled Awad, who’s had an inspiring performance.

Their last clear cut chance came in the 87th minute when Mostafa Mohamed’s header went wide yet again.

This result means that league leaders Al Ahly have officially been crowned champions for the 42nd time in their history.

Zamalek now remain in second place, seven points ahead of third place Pyramids. They will face bottom placed Tanta in their upcoming encounter next Tuesday.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *