Alexander-Arnold named in England’s squad despite injury


Liverpool defender Trent Alexander-Arnold has been named in England’s 26-member squad for the 2020 European Championship.

The 22-year-old was expected to be one of the players that would be left out by coach Gareth Southgate ahead of Euro 2020 due to an injury.

The 50-year-old English mentor had to cut seven players from his provisional squad list.

Southgate said that: “I think every squad [selection] is difficult because we have a lot of talented players in this country.

“The most difficult thing [this time] is not being able to take players who have been with us in previous matches and are such good professionals, so I know what a disappointment it is for them, at the moment, not to be going to a major championship.”

Alexander-Arnold has missed the past seven internationals but will contest a starting place with Chelsea’s Champions League winner Reece James, Kieran Trippier, who won La Liga with Atletico Madrid, and Manchester City’s Premier League champion Kyle Walker.

Meawhile, injured duo Harry Maguire and Jordan Henderson are both included in the squad.

“The most complex part has been those injuries and whether we should take the chance on people – players like Jordan Henderson and Harry Maguire not being quite where they normally are,” said England boss.

“With the experience that they have, we think we can get them to a point where they have an involvement in the tournament and it’s worth taking them – especially as we have an extended squad of 26.”


Goalkeepers: Dean Henderson (Man Utd), Sam Johnstone (West Brom), Jordan Pickford (Everton)

Defenders: John Stones (Man City), Luke Shaw (Man Utd), Harry Maguire (Man Utd), Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Kyle Walker (Man City), Tyrone Mings (Aston Villa), Reece James (Chelsea), Conor Coady (Wolves), Ben Chilwell (Chelsea), Kieran Trippier (Atletico Madrid)

Midfielders: Mason Mount (Chelsea), Declan Rice (West Ham), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Jude Bellingham (Borussia Dortmund), Kalvin Phillips (Leeds)

Forwards: Harry Kane (Tottenham), Marcus Rashford (Man Utd), Raheem Sterling (Man City), Dominic Calvert-Lewin (Everton), Phil Foden (Man City), Jack Grealish (Aston Villa), Jadon Sancho (Borussia Dortmund), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal)

RELATED STORY: Alexander-Arnold will not be going to the Euros

By FARPost Reporter

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *