All set for ABC Motsepe National Playoffs draw


The South African Football Association (Safa) has confirmed that the 2021 ABC Motsepe National Playoffs draw will be held today, 23 June.

The draw will be conducted at 12:00 noon at SAFA House, Conference Room.

Nine provincial winners will take part in the national playoffs for the right to be called Champ of Champs.

Just like any other years, the top three will qualify for the semi-finals, and will be joined by the best second placed team.

The finalists will gain automatic promotion to the GladAfrica Championship.

The group stage matches will be played from 28 June, with the final day set for 3 July in Mpumalanga.

All the teams taking part in the playoffs will be represented at the draw.

In the previous year, the tournament was won by Bizana Pondo Chiefs, with Pretoria Callies finishing second. However, it’s a pity that Bizana Chiefs couldn’t handle the heat in the National First Division as they were relegated in their first season.

Below are the teams that will be competing at this year’s national playoffs:

Glendene United (Western Cape), BCM Stars (Eastern Cape), Platinum City Rovers (North West), Hungry Lions (Northern Cape), Umvoti (KwaZulu Natal), FC Sivutsa NPC (Mpumalanga), Mangaung Unite (Free State), The Dolphins (Limpopo) and Leruma United (Gauteng).

By FARPost Reporter

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *