Today marks 25 years since Bafana Bafana won their first and only CAF Africa Cup of Nations trophy.

South Africa beat Tunisia 2-0 in the final thanks to a brace by Mark Williams.

The Clive Barker coached side scored 11 goals in their six matches.

They beat Cameroon 3-0 in the opening match of the tournament, followed by a 1-0 win against Angola and a 1-0 defeat by Egypt in the last group A match, but still finished top of the group.

Captained by Neil Tovey, South Africa beat Algeria 2-1 in the quarterfinal, Ghana 3-0 in the semi-finals to set up a final with the Eagles of Carthage.

Below is the full list of the Bafana Bafana 1996 squad, their age at the time and the teams they were playing for:


Andre Arendse (aged 28), Cape Town Spurs

Roger De Sa (aged 31), Mamelodi Sundowns

John Tlale (aged 28), QwaQwa Stars


Mark Fish (aged 21), Orlando Pirates

Edward Motale (aged 29), Orlando Pirates

Sizwe Motaung (aged 26), Mamelodi Sundowns

David Nyathi (aged 26), Cape Town Spurs

Lucas Radebe (aged 26), Leeds United

Neil Tovey (c) (aged 33), Kaizer Chiefs

Andrew Tucker (aged 27), Pretoria City


Linda Buthelezi (aged 26), Mamelodi Sundowns

Doctor Khumalo (aged 28), Kaizer Chiefs

Augustine Makalakalane (aged 30), FC Zurich

Helman Mkhalele (aged 26), Orlando Pirates

John Moeti (aged 28), Orlando Pirates

Zane Moosa (aged 27), Mamelodi Sundowns

John Moshoeu (aged 30), Kocaelispor

Eric Tinkler (aged 25), Vitoria de Setubal


Shaun Bartlett (aged 23), Cape Town Spurs

Philemon Masinga (aged 26), Leeds United

Daniel Mudau (aged 27), Mamelodi Sundowns

Mark Williams (aged 29), Wolverhampton Wanderers

RELATED STORY:Legend of the Week: Shoes Moshoeu

By Ofhani Munyai

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *