Bayern, Dortmund reject Super League


Bundesliga clubs Borussia Dortmund and Bayern Munich have opted to proceed with Champions League reforms rather than participate in the new European Super League.

That’s according to Dortmund CEO Hans-Joachim Watzke.

Bayern have yet to comment on the proposed league but Watzke said in his statement that both clubs were in agreement about committing to the Champions League.

“The members of the [European Club Association] ECA board got together on a virtual conference on Sunday evening and reaffirmed that last Friday’s board decision remains valid,” Watzke said in a statement released by Dortmund on Monday.

“Both German clubs on the ECA board, Bayern Munich and Borussia Dortmund, represented 100% congruent views in all discussions,”

As part of the new project, all 12 clubs associated with the league are expected to resign from the European Club Association, the body which brings together 246 major clubs, with immediate effect.

Sources have told ESPN that Arsenal have left with chief executive Vinai Venkatesham stepping down from his position on the ECA board. Venkatesham was only elected last month.

Juventus, AC Milan and Inter Milan have all confirmed their exit with ECA chairman Andrea Agnelli also resigning from his role. Manchester United have stood down with the club’s executive vice-chairman Ed Woodward resigning his position as a board member, while sources have told ESPN that Tottenham have left with Chelsea set to follow.

RELATED STORY: Man United, Juve, Real Madrid confirm plans to participate in Super League


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *