The draw for the 2020 Total African Nations Championship (CHAN) was conducted on Monday evening in Cameroon in Yaoundé.

Record Chan winners DR Congo, Guinea, Mali and Rwanda were in Pot Two while Pot four had Zimbabwe, Niger, Togo and Tanzania.

Unlike the African Cup of Nations (AFCON), the competing nations must be composed of local players playing in their domestic leagues.

The tournament has in the past seen the likes of Kudakwashe Mahachi (Mamelodi Sundowns), Justin Shonga (Orlando Pirates) and Lazarus Kambole joining PSL sides after impressing in the CHAN tournament though it can be said that Kambole joined Chiefs after his heroics in the CAF Champions League for ZESCO United.

Hosts Cameroon will take on Zimbabwe in the opening game in Yaounde on the 4th of April. Morocco are the defending champions.

The final tournament will be held from 4-25 April 2020 in the cities of Yaounde, Douala and Limbe.

By Shane Matsoyane

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *