Downs crowned Champions


Mamelodi Sundowns have been crowned the 2019/20 Absa Premiership champions beating rivals Kaizer Chiefs to the title.

This is after their 3-0 win against Black Leopards at Dobsonville Stadium this afternoon, with Lebohang Maboe netting a hattrick.

A hatrick by Maboe gave the ‘Brazilians’ their 10th Absa Premiership title.

Kaizer Chiefs came into the final round of matches, on top of the log with a superior goal difference.

And ‘The Glamour Boys’, were on the verge of lifting the Absa Premiership title for the first time in five years but Baroka spoiled the party.

‘Bakgakga’ held ‘Amakhosi’ to a 1-1 draw at the Bidvest Stadium.

Khama Billiat broke the deadlock in the 39th minute before Manuel Kambala levelled matters for Baroka with a towering header in the second half to deny Ernst Middendorp his first ever league title.

Baroka have survived relegation after finishing 14th.

Leopards will play the promotion/playoffs while Polokwane City have been relegated to the GladAfrica Championship.

By Ofhani Munyai

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *