DStv Prem stars included in Namibia squad for World Cup qualifiers


Namibia head coach Bobby Samaria has named a 32-man squad for the upcoming 2022 Fifa World Cup qualifying matches against Congo and Togo.

‘The Brave Warriors’ will use Orlando Stadium in Soweto as their home venue after the Windhoek stadiums were declared sub-standard by a Caf inspection team.

Mamelodi Sundowns striker Peter Shalulile and Orlando Pirates winger Deon Hotto are part of the squad along with Swallows goalkeeper Virgil Vries and Baroka duo of Joslin Kamatuka and Ananias Gebhardt.

Samaria’s troops will open their World Cup qualifiers campaign at home in a clash with Congo on 2 September, before traveling to West Africa to take on Togo in Lome three days later.

In October they play two matches within five days against Senegal – away in Dakar on 6 October, and ‘home’ in Soweto on 10 October.

On Thursday in a press conference, Samaria said it would not be a problem to play their home matches in South Africa.

“Most of our professional players are based there, so playing at Orlando Stadium will be like a second home for them. Also, now with Covid-19, spectators won’t be allowed and teams won’t have the 12th man advantage that the spectators bring,” he said.

Samaria also stated that they were in a tough group, but were aiming to get off on a winning note.

“It’s very important to get off on a winning note, but it goes without saying that it’s a very tough group if you look at the rankings. But if we have the belief, we can get good results,” he said.

Senegal are currently the top-ranked nation in Africa with a world ranking of 21, while Congo is ranked 20th in Africa and 93rd in the world. Namibia is ranked 25th in Africa and 107th in the world, while Togo is ranked 36th in Africa and 131st in the world.

The Brave Warriors squad:

Virgil Vries, Kamaijanda Ndisiro, Loydt Kazapua, Edward Maova.

Kennedy Amutenya, Ivan Kamberipa, Riaan Hanamub, Tiberius Lombard, Ananias Gebhardt, Larry Horaeb, Denzil Haoseb, Aprocius Petrus, Charles Hambira, Immanuel Heita.

Dynamo Fredericks, Deon Hotto, Wendel Rudath, Alfeus Handura, Absalom Imbondi, Wesley Katjiteo, Willy Stephanus, Marcel Papama, Manfred Starke, Prins Tjiueza, Wangu Gome.

Elmo Kambindu, Issaskar Gurirab, Peter Shalulile, Benson Shilongo, Joslin Kamatuka, Monis Omseb, Junias Theophilus.

RELATED STORY: Soweto to host Shalulile and Co. in World Cup qualifier

By FARPost Reporter