England-based trio set to join Ghana camp


Coach Charles Akonnor has been given a major boost with some of his senior players being released by their clubs.

After initially not being available, England-based players have now been released by their clubs. The agreement between the Ghana Football Association and the clubs is that the players will only feature in the game against Sao Tome, not Bafana Bafana.

Akonnor initially named his final squad for the two games, but the coach has now been forced to make a few changes to accommodate his star players. Andrew Ayew headlines the changes alongside his brother Jordan Ayew and Thomas Partey.

Under the new travel protocols in the United Kingdom, people who travel to the red-list travel ban countries are required to quarantine for a minimum of 10 days upon their return to the country. South Africa is one of the 33 countries in that category and clubs were reluctant to release their key players if they would be forced to miss games upon their return to England, but with the new arrangements all parties are satisfied.

Germany-based duo Stephan Ambrosius and Adams Nuhu have also pulled out of the squad. Ambrosius has opted to honour a call-up from Germany who have included him in their European U21 Championships squad while Nuhu misses out due to injury.

Ghana take on Bafana Bafana at the FNB Stadium on Thursday evening before hosting Sao Tome and Principe three days later.

Below is the squad that will travel to South Africa before being joined by the England-based contingent later this week.


Richard Ofori (Orlando Pirates, South Africa), Razak Abalora (Asante Kotoko, Ghana), Eric Ofori Antwi (Medeama SC, Ghana), Danlad Ibrahim (Asante Kotoko, Ghana).


Baba Abdul Rahman (PAOK, Greece), Benson Annan (MLK Zilina, Slovakia), Philemon Baffuor (Dreams FC, Ghana), Imoro Ibrahim (Asante Kotoko – Ghana), Nicholas Opoku (Amiens SC, France), Ganiyu Ismael (Asante Kotoko, Ghana), Joseph Adjei (Legon Cities, Ghana), Yussif Mubarik (Asante Kotoko, Ghana).


Kudus Mohammed (Ajax Amsterdam, Holland), Mubarak Wakaso (Jiangsu Suning F.C, China), Afriyie Acquah (Yeni Malatyaspor, Turkey), Emmanuel Lomotey (Amiens SC, France), Gladson Awako (Great Olympics -Ghana), Kwame Afriyie Poku (Colchester United, England), Osman Bukari (Gent, Belgium), Joseph Esso (Dreams FC, Ghana).


Emmanuel Boateng (Dalian Professional, China), Emmanuel Gyasi (Spezia, Italy), Kwame Opoku (Asante Kotoko – Ghana), John Antwi (Pyramids FC, Egypt), Kwasi Okyere Wriedt (Willem II, Holland), Caleb Ekuban (Trabzonspor, Turkey).

RELATED ARTICLE: Yunus Musah snubs Ghana for USA

By Prince Sobayeni 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *