Eswatini FA to have a new leader


Dr Comfort Shongwe is set to take over as president at least until July’s elective General Assembly.

This comes after outgoing EFA president Adam Mthethwa was elected as the Eswatini Olympic and Commonwealth Games Association (EOCGA) president on Sunday.

According to the constitution, Mthethwa is compelled to relinquish his position as EFA president within 30 days.

EFA Statutes in Article 40 (9) also states that “If the President is permanently or temporarily prevented from performing his official function, the longest serving vice president in the Executive Committee shall represent him until the next General Assembly. This General Assembly shall elect a new President, if necessary. If the longest serving vice president is prevented from assuming the powers and responsibilities of the President, the next longest serving vice president shall assume the powers and responsibilities of the President.”

EFA will officially have a new president after 24 years of Mthethwa’s reign.

So far seven candidates who qualify to stand for the election are Dr Shongwe, current vice president Peter ‘Samora’ Simelane, former EFA vice president and PLE executive member Mashumi Shongwe, Johannes ‘Ace’ Siboza, former vice president Nicodemus ‘Ace’ Mashwama, Sonnyboy Mabuza and Sikhumbuzo Dlamini.

RELATED STORY:EFA fail to meet venue submission deadline

By Ofhani Munyai

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *