Eswatini to reduce clubs in premier division


The Premier League of Eswatini will see the number of teams reduced from 16 to 15 when the current season comes to an end.

Two clubs, finishing at the top of the first division table, will be promoted to the MTN Premier League, this ultimately means a 15-team MTN premier league as of 2021/2022 season

This is according to the 2020/21 MTN Premier League Rules and Regulations compiled and presented by the Premier League of Eswatini (PLE). The rules were formulated such that the strategic relegation of teams reversed the teams back to 14 as was the case when the league was cancelled last season.

Due to the fact that the spread of covid-19 forced the cancellation of the season before games were completed, the Eswatini Football Association (EFA) implemented promotions only and there was no relegation on all levels.

This meant that teams increased to 16 at the elite league and 14 to the first division, something which the football mother body had indicated will be reversed through strategic relegation in an undisclosed number of seasons.

PLE Executive Member, Sibusiso Nxumalo confirmed during a television interview that three teams will be relegated to the first division and two will be promoted to the premier league.

RELATED STORY: Eswatini government urges PLE to prioritise safety

By Ofhani Munyai

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *