Gsport Awards end off women’s month in style


There’s no better way to end off Women’s Month and Momentum’s #SheOwnsHerSuccess Campaign than to celebrate the strides women have made in sport at the 2021 Momentum gsport Awards.

It has been a challenging year for the sporting industry with some of the live sporting events being cancelled due to the Covid pandemic. And while normal life is still a while away, it is important to acknowledge the successes made by women in sport in spite of the unprecedented times.

Gsport and Momentum is celebrating the 16th edition, and the third year for Momentum as the main sponsor of this awards ceremony which seeks to recognise South Africa’s leading women in sport and to support women in sports on their journey to success.

South Africans can tune in to watch the broadcast of what is the continent’s only national women’s sports awards on Tuesday 31 August at 20:00 on SuperSport Variety 4 – Channel 209 on DSTV. Sports lovers can also catch the broadcast on SS Play, Channel 243 on the DStv app. SS Play is available for free on the DStv app or on First time users will need to sign up.

Gsport Founder Kass Naidoo says that the event will recognise over 20 individuals for their achievements over the past year.

“We are excited to be hosting this year’s event, especially after such a difficult year. This prestigious event is fitting for the talented women we will be honouring, who continuously attain excellence and break barriers that keep them from achieving their full potential. We are grateful that our partnership with Momentum enables us to do this for women’s sport,” she said.

Head of Momentum Brand, Charlotte Nsubuga-Mukasa says: “We are committed to enable women’s success in sport. It’s an honour to be associated with the gsport awards which have been won by some of the world’s greatest athletes such as Rio Olympic gold medallist, Caster Semenya, World Surf ski champion Hayley Nixon, and Banyana star, Thembi Kgatlana, among others.”

The finalists for the Momentum Athlete of the year award, described as a South African sportswoman who has excelled at an international or senior level during the Year under Review (30 June, 2020 to 30 June, 2021), are:

  • Caitlyn Macnab, who by defending her SA Women’s Amateur title aided her way to maintain her No.1 GolfRSA senior ranking for a second year. She also earned a spot on the Ladies European Tour after her win on the Sunshine Ladies Tour.
  • Rhoda Mulaudzi, whose team kits are Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies, Banyana Banyana and Dinamo Minsk in Belarus. This dynamic forward shows great potential to increase her already significant success.
  • Shabnim Ismail, Momentum Proteas strike bowler and the first overseas Player of the Match in an Australian Big Bash Final. She is also the first SA woman to take 150 wickets, and she’s been snapped up for England tournament, The Hundred.

Momentum Metropolitan Chief Marketing Officer Nontokozo Madonsela will hand over the Momentum Athlete of the Year Award together with Minister of Sport, Arts & Culture Nathi Mthethwa.

The gsport Public Choice Award which is awarded to the athlete that receives the most votes, will be handed over by Nsubuga-Mukasa. Momentum’s head of sponsorship and events, Carel Bosman will be handing the gsport Coach of the Year award.

The Awards will close off Women’s Month, during which Momentum has been encouraging women to own their success and to overcome the barriers that hold them back from realising their potential. To keep up with the latest on the Momentum gsport Awards, follow the #gsport16 and #SheOwnsHerSuccess hashtags on social media.

Press Release