Henderson named FWA Footballer of the Year


Liverpool captain Jordan Henderson has been crowned Football Writers’ Association (FWA) Footballer of the Year for the 2019/20 season.

Henderson saw off stiff competition from team-mates Virgil van Dijk and Sadio Mane, Manchester City’s Kevin De Bruyne as well as Manchester United forward Marcus Rashford to claim the honour.

The 30-year-old midfielder, who led Liverpool to their first league title in 30 years, received more than a quarter of the votes.

“I would like to say how appreciative I am of the support of those who voted for me and the Football Writers’ Association in general,” said the England International.

“You only have to look at the past winners of it, a number of whom I’ve been blessed to play with here at Liverpool, like Stevie (Gerrard), Luis (Suarez) and Mo (Salah) to know how prestigious it is.

“But as grateful as I am I don’t feel like I can accept this on my own. I don’t feel like anything I’ve achieved this season or in fact during my whole career has been done on my own. I owe a lot to so many different people – but none more so than my current teammates – who have just been incredible and deserve this every bit as much as I do,” he said.

Meanwhile, still with Liverpool, midfielder Fabinho had his home burgled as he celebrated the club’s first Premier League title win.

It is understood thieves broke into the Brazilian’s home somewhere between 3pm on Wednesday July 22 and 4am on Thursday July 23.

Police have said items of jewellery and an Audi RS6 were stolen during the raid in Formby with the car later recovered in Wigan.

The burglary was discovered when Fabinho returned to the property, just hours after Liverpool beat Chelsea 5-3 at Anfield.

RELATED STORY: De Bruyne, Mane, Alexander-Arnold: Who should win FWA Player of the Year?

By Ofhani Munyai


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *