HISTORY: Tanzania’s Kariakoo Derby


Yanga and Simba will clash at Benjamin Mkapa Stadium this afternoon and the FARPost Team is in Tanzania to bring you coverage of this big clash.

How Yanga and Simba were formed

In 1935, Dar es Salaam residents, who were grouped as Africans by the colonial administration in Tanganyika (now Tanzania), decided to form a football club to compete in a league which was full of ‘non-African’ football clubs.

The name New Young is said to be the club’s first name. Later it was replaced by the name Dar es Salaam Young Africans SC, and eventually, the name changed to Young Africans Sports Club, which is their current name. They are popularly known as Yanga.

After its establishment in 1935, its members squabbled over their team’s poor performance and results. The club had an even poorer and unsatisfactory performance in 1936 that caused some of the members to split and form another team.

The proponents of breaking away were Arabs who saw fit to cause conflict among the club members that led to a split. They succeeded, and together with dissidents formed a club known as Queens F.C (now Simba SC). The name was later changed to Sunderland and then to Simba.

The two teams have been rivals ever since.

Dar es Salaam Derby

Simba SC and Young Africans are the most successful clubs in the history of Tanzanian football since 1965 when the Premier League was officially formed.

The Kariakoo Derby is considered to be one of the biggest rivalries in association football in Africa along with the Soweto Derby in South Africa (Kaizer Chiefs v Orlando Pirates), Cairo Derby in Egypt (Al Ahly vs Zamalek) and is also the most famous fixture in Tanzanian football.

There is no love lost when between the two combatants whenever they cross swords, although Yanga have had the most laughs in that out of their last 103 meetings.

According to Tanzania local football page, OptaLotti the two clubs have met 103 times since 1966 with Yanga winning 36 times, Simba 31 wins and 36 draws.

Apart from the 2013/14 season when Azam FC won the league title, it has been either Simba or Yanga in all the other occasions who have won the title from 2010 till this date.

The two giants will meet this afternoon for the first Kariakoo Derby of the 2020/21 Mainland Premier League season. The match will be played at the Benjamin Mkapa Stadium at 17:00.

Fans can expect to see goals as in the last 20 matches between the two sides, an average of two goals have been scored in a league encounter.

A total of five goals were scored in the 2019/20 season with the first tie ending in a thrilling 2-2 draw. The second meeting went in favour of Yanga when former Pirates player Bernard Morrison netted the only goal of the match.

RELATED STORY: Tanzania Football Federation make headway with technical centre

By Ofhani Munyai 

reporting from Dar es Salaam, Tanzania

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *