Al Ahly win 10th CAF CL title


Al Ahly have won a record 10th CAF Champions League title following their 3-0 win over Kaizer Chiefs in Casablanca, Morocco, on Saturday evening.

Chiefs held on until the two sides went into the break goalless, but that was after Chiefs were reduced to 10 men.

Happy Mashiane was sent off for a serious foul play just before the break. It proved to be Chiefs’ undoing as the Egyptians came out guns blazing in the second and scored three unanswered goals.

Goals from Mohamed Sherif, Magdy Afsha and Mohamed Elsoulia handed Ahly the title.

Ahly took maximum advantage of the numerical strength in the second half and it took them just eight minutes to break the deadlock. Akram sent Sherif through with a peach of a pass and the forward dinked the ball over an onrushing Daniel Akpeyi.

The Red Devils made it 2-0 in the 64th minute off a quick counter attack when the ball was launched behind the defense.

Keeper Akpeyi and defender Eric Mathoho did not decide who was to go for the ball and Mohamed Taher picked up on the left before spraying to Afsha who played a one two with Sherif before slamming the ball into the far left.

Ten minutes later, it was game over for Chiefs as Ahly got their third off another quickly executed play. Sheriff picked the ball at the edge of the box before setting up Elsoulia with a beautiful backheel roll.

Elsoulia picked his spot and curled in a beauty past the keeper to all but seal the title into Ahly’s name. Chiefs made attempts to try and cut out the deficit, but the Egyptians were more settled and dealt with the danger with calmness.

By Tiyani wa ka Mabasa/