Jorginho wins Uefa men’s Player of the Year


Chelsea and Italy midfielder Jorginho has been named the 2020/21 Uefa men’s Player of the Year.

The 29-year-old footballer beat his teammate N’Golo Kante and Manchester City’s Kevin de Bruyne to the top award.

Meanwhile, Blues mentor Thomas Tuchel won the men’s coach of the year award, having led Chelsea to the Champions League triumph.

There were further awards for Chelsea as Kante was named midfielder of the year and Eduoard Mendy claimed the goalkeeper of the year prize.

Men’s Uefa awards

Player of the year – Jorginho (Chelsea)

Coach of the year – Thomas Tuchel (Chelsea)

Goalkeeper of the year – Edouard Mendy (Chelsea)

Defender of the year – Ruben Dias (Manchester City)

Midfielder of the year – N’Golo Kante (Chelsea)

Forward of the year – Erling Braut Haaland (Borussia Dortmund)

President’s award – Denmark captain Simon Kjaer and the medical team that saved Christian Eriksen’s life at Euro 2020.

Women’s Uefa awards

Player of the year – Alexia Putellas (Barcelona)

Coach of the year – Lluis Cortes (Barcelona)

Goalkeeper of the year – Sandra Panos (Barcelona)

Defender of the year – Irene Paredes (PSG)

Midfielder of the year – Alexia Putellas (Barcelona)

Forward of the year – Jennifer Hermoso (Barcelona)

RELATED STORYMbappe, Haaland lead UCL award nominations

By FARPost Reporter