Khumalo announces Amajimbos final squad for Afcon U-17


The South African national U-17 football coach Vela Khumalo has named his 21-man squad for the Total U-17 Africa Cup of Nations (Afcon) slated for Morocco this year.

Amajimbos were drawn in what may be termed the ‘Group of Death’ in the Afcon U-17 competition a week ago.

Khumalo’s boys will face West African opponents Cameroon, Senegal and Mali in Group C.

The tournament will commence on the 13th until the 31st of March 2021.

“We are looking forward to a tough but exciting tournament. We are ready to put up a great show and advertise the South African style of play. In the past South Africa has done very well in the U-17 tournament and we intend to continue doing so,” Khumalo told

The team is set to jet off to Morocco on Thursday, 4 March 2021 to continue with their preparations ahead of their opening match on 15 March 2021 against Mali.

“It is unfortunate that there will be no U-17 Fifa World Cup this year as the qualification for this tournament was our ultimate goal. However, we will go to Morocco and bring back with us the much needed international experience for these players as they are the stars of tomorrow,” he adds.

Full Squad:


Callum Thompson – KZN Academy (KwaZulu Natal)

Deejan Ah Shene – Ubuntu FC (Western Cape)

Tyrique Simons – SuperSport United (Gauteng)


Akhanyile Norawana – School of Excellence (Gauteng)

Siyabonga Gumede – School of Excellence (Gauteng)

Puso Dithejane – School of Excellence (Gauteng)

Abram Mashele – SuperSport United (Gauteng)


Kabelo Kgositlile – Baroka (Limpopo)

Yamkela Phalane – AmaZulu (KwaZulu Natal)

Luciano Jonas – Unattached (formerly with Bidvest Wits)

Siphesihle Tati – Kaizer Chiefs (Gauteng)

Mduduzi Shabalala – Kaizer Chiefs (Gauteng)

Ntandoyenkosi Nkosi – Kaizer Chiefs (Gauteng)

Luphumlo Sifumba – Cape Town City (Western Cape)

Siyabong Khoza – Panarama FC (Gauteng)

Unathi Radebe – Cape Town Spurs (Western Cape)


Keaviano Francis – School of Excellence (Gauteng)

Sanele Skosana – AP Apprentice Academy (Gauteng)

Mikhenso Mbiga – TS Galaxy (Mpumalanga)

Thabang Mahlangu – SuperSport United (Gauteng)

Njabulo Hlongwane – Kaizer Chiefs (Gauteng)

RELATED STORY: Amajimbos report for camp to prepare for U17 Afcon

By Mauwane Raophala

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *