Klopp named Manager of the Year


Former Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson has heaped praise on Jurgen Klopp after the Liverpool boss was named the League Managers Association Manager of the Year.

Klopp guided Liverpool to their maiden Premier League title – the first time the Reds had been crowned champions of England in 30 years.

Liverpool blew away the competition and were crowned league champions with a huge 99 points – 18 clear of second place Manchester City.

“Jurgen: fantastic,” Ferguson said live on Sky Sports as he announced Klopp as the LMA manager of the year winner. “I speak about Leeds United, 16 years in the Championship. Liverpool; 30 years since winning the league – incredible.

“You really thoroughly deserved it.

“The performance level of your team was outstanding. Your personality runs right through the whole club. I think it was a marvellous, marvellous performance.”

The legendary ex-United boss then revealed that Klopp had even called him at an ungodly hour after the title was confirmed.

Ferguson added: “I’ll forgive you for waking me up at half past 3 in the morning to tell me you’d won the league: thank you!”

“But anyway, you thoroughly deserve it; well done.”

Ferguson knows a thing or two about winning Premier League titles, having won 13 of them during his glittering 27-year tenure at Manchester United.

“I’m absolutely delighted to be named the winner of the League Managers Association manager of the year award, for this wonderful Sir Alex Ferguson trophy, named after a man that I admire so much,” said Klopp.

“It feels extra special to win this award because it is voted for by my fellow managers.

“It’s an honour to be in the company of so many managers who have been named as LMA manager of the year before, including of course Liverpool managers like Bill Shankly, Bob Paisley, Joe Fagan, Sir Kenny Dalglish and, in recent years, Brendan Rodgers.”

“I am here on behalf of my coaches. I’m OK as a manager but they make us a real special bunch of football brains.”

Sheffield United’s Chris Wilder was announced as the runner up, while Chelsea’s Emma Hayes scooped the WSL award.

RELATED STORY: Klopp: Liverpool manager’s journey from Black Forest to heroic status at Anfield

By 90min

Edited by Tiyani wa ka Mabasa

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *