KZN ABC Motsepe League set to resume


KwaZulu-Natal ABC Motsepe League will be divided into two streams, with the first games set to take place from the 20th of February 2021.

All the games that have already been played in the league have been scratched out.

This comes after the South African Football Association (Safa) suspended all amateur football activities due to Covid-19 cases surge in the country earlier this year.

KZN Football Association had its ABC Motsepe meeting on Saturday, 6 February 2021 and the following were agreed upon:

1. That the provincial office will request for us as KZN to kick-off the ABC Motsepe League on the 20th of February 2021, not on the 6th of March 2021, due to a high number of teams in the province.

2. We have agreed that due to the time and abnormal situations we are living in, we will stream our teams into two, one stream will have ten teams and the other with nine teams.

3. All our games will be played without spectators, in closed stadiums.

4. COVID-19 temperatures and team sheets will be emailed to the PEO, on the day of the match before 10:00 in the morning to avoid moving of papers from one person to another.

5. Promotion

5.1. Top teams in both streams will play home and away in order to determine the provincial winner.

5.1.1. The away goal rule will apply, i.e. if both games are played in a goalless draw, they will go straight to penalties and in a draw with goals, away team gets an advantage.

6. Relegation

6.1. Three teams will be relegated at the end of the season as follows:

6.1.1. Last two teams in both streams will go straight to relegation.

6.1.2. The second last teams in both streams will go for a playoff which will also be home and away to determine which team is relegated.

Below are the KZN ABC Motsepe League streams:


1) G Millionaire

2) Happy Wanderes

3) XI Experience

4) Royal Eagles

5) GWP Friends

6) Summerfield Dynamos

7) eThekwini Coastal

8) Msinga United

9) Running Water

10) Umvoti Milford


1) Njampela

2) Asande

3) Durban fc

4) Dabeka Sporting

5) Real Kings

6) Muzi Kings

7) Masters

7) Black Lions

9) Qwabe United

RELATED STORY: Sibiya resigns as Dabeka Sporting head coach

By Mauwane Raophala

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *