LaLiga KwaMahlobo Games Last 16 Teams Confirmed


The clubs that will compete in the LaLiga-sponsored KwaMahlobo Games round of 16 were concluded on Monday, 31 January after the organizers conducted the draw which produced some exciting knockout fixtures.

After a total of 100 highly competitive group matches to determine the top 16, from 45 clubs, the tournament has entered into the exciting knockout stages to determine who will be crowned champions of this season’s LaLiga-sponsored KwaMahlobo Games edition.

Looking at the first round of knockout matches set for Thursday, 2 January, Chipolopolo will face Mangalani Aces who are high in confidence following their impressive performance that saw them edge tournament favourites, Snake Park Chillers in the last round of group B fixtures.

Protea Amagents will take on Hungry Lions in the 11h00 fixture before CSKA Moscow take on 2017/18 champions, Izinja Ze Game at 13h00.

The final match of the day will see TP Styles hoping to get their revenge on Braamfischer Tsalanang who edged them 1-0 in their group match.

The next day will conclude the round of 16 fixtures with more exciting clashes lined up for the day. The highly entertaining Lyon have a tough task in the 09h00 fixture when they take on defending champions, Mathathai FC who fought hard to secure a place in the knockout stages with a crucial 2-2 draw against Dooronkop.

Soweto Super United face off against Umswenko at 11h00 before Teedee Warriors and Shake Everyday clash in the 13h00 fixture.

The final match of the round of 16 will be a Meadowlands derby when Meadowlands All Stars take on Meadowlands Juventus at 15h00.

Speaking after the draw of the clash, tournament co-founder, Patrick Ntenjwa said the standard of the tournament continues to improve thanks to the tireless efforts of LaLiga’s contribution to the tournament and community at large.

“As we enter the final stages of the tournament, we are proud to say that we have had a safe and incident free tournament. Throughout the tournament, the fans have been well-behaved, and this has seen the attendance numbers grow. A big thank you to our sponsors LaLiga for partnering with this wonderful community initiative and we look forward to the rest of the tournament” said Ntenjwa.

The finals of the tournament will take place on Sunday, 5 January 2020.

Press Release 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *