Lewandowski named UEFA Men’s Player of the Year


Bayern Munich striker Robert Lewandowski has been named UEFA Men’s Player of the Year for 2019/20.

Lewandowski beat off competition from Manchester City midfielder Kevin De Bruyne and Bayern teammate Manuel Neuer.

The award was announced during the 2020/21 UEFA Champions League group stage draw in Geneva yesterday.

The top ten European players are:

1. Robert Lewandowski (Bayern) – 477 points

2. Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City) – 90 points

3. Manuel Neuer (Bayern) – 66 points

4. Lionel Messi (Barcelona) 53 points

5. Neymar (Paris Saint-Germain) 53 points

6. Thomas Müller (Bayern) 41 points

7. Kylian Mbappé (Paris Saint-Germain) 39 points

8. Thiago Alcántara (Bayern) 27 points

9. Joshua Kimmich (Bayern) 26 points

10. Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus) 25 point

The other award winners include:

UEFA Women’s Player of the Year: Pernille Harder

Men’s Coach of the Year: Hansi Flick

Women’s Coach of the Year: Jean-Luc Vasseur

Men’s Goalkeeper of the Season: Manuel Neuer

Men’s Defender of the Season: Joshua Kimmich

Men’s Midfielder of the Season: Kevin De Bruyne

Men’s Forward of the Season: Robert Lewandowski

Women’s Goalkeeper of the Season: Sarah Bouhaddi

Women’s Defender of the Season: Wendie Renard

Women’s Midfielder of the Season: Dzsenifer Marozsán

Women’s Forward of the Season: Pernille Harder

UEFA President’s Award: Didier Drogba

RELATED STORY: Lewandowski equals record as Bayern hit five

By Ofhani Munyai

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *