Limpopo Challenge back and better


The draw for the second edition of the SAFA Limpopo Soccer Challenge has been conducted in Polokwane.

The tournament involves the top 8 teams from the Limpopo ABC Motsepe League from the previous season.

The teams participating this year are The Dolphins (Defending Champions), Mikhado FC, Eleven Fast Tigers, Magesi, Polokwane United, Berachah Valley, Ditlou FC and Giyani Happy Boys.

The quarterfinals will be played on Sunday December 1, semifinals on Saturday December 14 and the final on Sunday December 22, all at the Seshego stadium.

SAFA vice president Ria Ledwaba holds the trophy.

Quarterfinal Fixtures:

Eleven Fast Tigers v Berachah Valley


Giyani Hotspurs v Polokwane United


Ditlou FC v Mikhado FC


The Dolphins v Magesi FC


Tournament organiser and SAFA Vice-President Ria Ledwaba says they have managed to rectify the mistakes from last year’s tournament.

“Well, we are expecting to do better than last year but the preparations this year were delayed because of the Women’s World Cup, the Afcon and the formation of the Women’s National League. But I am confident that we will have a successful tournament this year given the stakeholders that we have roped in,” she said.

“There was a bit of challenge last year in terms of the prizing so there was a lot of (unhappiness) from the players because they thought they would win cash but instead sponsors opted to donate materials than cash but we have now decided to sort that out.”

The prize for the winners will be R 150 000, R50 000 for second placed and R 20 000 for a 3rd place finish.

By Ofhani Munyai

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *