Lions crowned ABC Motsepe national champions


Hungry Lions were crowned the overall ABC Motsepe League champions after beating Platinum City Rovers 5-4 on penalties at the national playoffs in Mbombela on Saturday.

The match finished 0-0 in regulation time.

The Northern Cape champions also pocketed R1 250 000 prize money, while Rovers received R600 000 for finishing second.

In the individual awards, Bongi Mkhwanazi of Hungry Lions was voted the player of the tournament, while Vuyisile Wana of Mangaung Unite walked away with the top goalscorer award for his three goals.

RELATED STORY: ABC Motsepe play-offs seminal draw confirmed

By Ofhani Munyai