Mosimane announces Al Ahly squad for CAF CL semis


Al Ahly head coach Pitso Mosimane has announced the 22-man squad which flew to Morocco to take on Wydad in the first leg of the CAF Champions League semifinal, set to be held on October 17.

Al Ahly travelled on Tuesday to Morocco ahead of their Champions League semifinal clash, before hosting their Moroccan counterpart on October 23 in Cairo.

Al Ahly will retrieve their star goalkeeper Mohamed El-Shennawy for the encounter while Mahmoud Kahraba was also declared fit to fly with the squad and play the game.

Meanwhile, the Red Devils will be without central defender Ramy Rabia who sustained a muscular injury.

Ali Maaloul and Geraldo will join up with the squad in Morocco after finishing their national teams duty.

Al Ahly full squad

Goalkeepers: Mohamed El-Shennawy, Ali Lotfy, Mostafa Shobier

Defenders: Mahmoud Wahid, Ayman Ashraf, Yasser Ibrahim, Mohamed Hany, Ahmed Fathi, Ali Maaloul

Midfielders: Amr El-Sulaya, Aliou Dieng, Hamdy Fathi, Mohamed Magdy Afsha, Junior Ajayi, Saleh Gomaa, Hussein El-Shahat, Ahmed El-Sheikh, Walid Soliman, Mahmoud Kahraba, Geraldo

Strikers: Marwan Mohsen, Aliou Badji

Meanwhile, Zamalek, led by Portuguese manager Jaime Pacheco have revealed their 27-man squad set to face Raja Casablanca in the CAF Champions League semis.

Zamalek will visit Raja in the first leg next Monday October 18th, before playing the second leg on the 24th.

The squad saw the inclusion of four goalkeepers as well as the return of team captain Mahmoud Abdelrazek Shikabala as well as Karim Bambo.

Meanwhile, Tunisia and Morocco internationals Ferjani Sassi and Achraf Bencharki will join the squad directly from their national team camps.

Zamalek full squad

Goalkeepers: Mohamed Abogabal, Mahmoud Genesh, Mohamed Awad and Mohamed Sobhi

Defenders: Mahmoud Alaa, Mohamed Abdelghani, Mahmoud Hamdi El-Wensh, Ahmed Eid, Hazem Emam, Mohamed Abdelsalam, Mohamed Abdelshafy and Abdallah Gomaa.

Midfielders: Tarek Hamed, Ferjani Sassi, Mohamed Hassan, Youssef Obama, Karim Bambo, Shikabala, Ahmed Sayed ‘Zizo’, Mohamed Antar, Eslam Gabr, Mostafa Fathi, Achraf Bencharki and Mohamed Ounajem.

Forwards: Mostafa Mohamed, Omar El-Said and Kabongo Kasongo.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *