Namibia assured of safety ahead of Mali trip


Namibia Football Association (NFA) acting secretary general Franco Cosmos says the safety of the Brave Warriors is of paramount importance ahead of their Africa Cup of Nations (Afcon) qualifier against Mali in Bamako.

According to Cosmos, the Mali government has assured the safety of the Namibia squad, hence the Afcon qualifier between the two nations will continue in Bamako, where thousands of people have been killed as a result of the political unrest following a coup by the military against President Ibrahim Boubacar Keita in August as per multiple reports.

“We are aware of the political unrest going on in Mali at the moment and recently wrote to Caf to raise our concern regarding the political unrest in that country. Caf reverted and assured us that the Warriors are safe to go there [Mali],” said Cosmos.

The Brave Warriors of Namibia will meet Mali on 13 November and interim Coach Bobby Samaria has named a 40-man squad in preparation for the upcoming Afcon qualifiers home and away. The players will report for a bio-bubble camp between 2-10 November, before the travelling squad is confirmed.

“We are a point behind Guinea and Mali who both stand on 4 points. It’s important for us to go there not just to participate, but to make sure the return leg on the 17 is relevant. We need points and that’s what we go for,” said Samaria.

Namibia are in Group A with Guinea, Mali and Chad for the race to 2021 Afcon finals. The return leg is set for 17 November at 17h00 at the Sam Nujoma Stadium.

The Brave Warriors squad

Goalkeepers: Lloyd Kazapua, Virgil Vries, Edward Maova, Ratanda Mbazuvara and Jonas Mateus.

Defenders: Teberius Lombardt, Ryan Nyambe, Ananias Gerbhardt, Riaan !Hanamub, Ivan Kamberipa, Emilio Martin, Vitapi Ngaruka, Larry Horaeb, Approcius Petrus, Gregory Aukumeb, Erasmus Ikeinge, Rehabeam Mbango, Brendon Neibeb, Kleophas Nuukushu, Denzil Hoaseb.

Midfielders: Petrus Shitembi, Deon Hotto, Wangu Gome, Dynamo Fredricks, Immanuel Heita, Aubrey Amseb, Wendell Rudath, Gustav Isaack, Lewellyn Stanley, Absalom Iimbondi, Marcel Papama, Willy Stephanus, Alfeus Handura and Wesley Katjiteo.

Strikers: Peter Shalulile, Benson Shilongo, Elmo Kambindu, Hendrik Somaeb, Panduleni Nekundi, Salomon Omseb.

RELATED STORY: New Namibia Premiership season to start in January

By FARPost Reporter 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *