Nedbank Cup: GladAfrica Championship clubs confirmed


The eight clubs from the GladAfrica Championship that will participate in next year’s Nedbank Cup have been confirmed.

The clubs qualified via the Nedbank Cup Qualification Competition this past weekend.

The two KwaZulu Natal clubs; Real Kings and Royal Eagles were the first to qualify on Friday afternoon.

Kings advanced after beating Steenberg United 3-1, while Eagles needed penalties to advance against Swallows FC.

On Saturday, Ajax Cape Town bounced back from last year’s disappointment when they were eliminated in the qualification stage of the tournament by beating Richards Bay 2-1 in Richards Bay.

Free State Stars lost at home to another side that has been struggling for form in the GladAfrica Championship TS Sporting.

The defending champions TS Galaxy are also through to the last 32.

On the same day, Jomo Cosmos advanced after beating University of Pretoria 2-1. The biggest surprise of the weekend though came with Mbombela United who eliminated on-form JDR Stars.

On Sunday, defending Nedbank Cup champions TS Galaxy ensured they will get an opportunity to defend their trophy as they beat Cape Umoya 1-0.

Tshakhuma FC and Uthongathi produced a seven-goal thriller. Uthongathi, current GladAfrica Championship log leaders, advanced 4-3.

The qualified clubs (order of Qualification): Real Kings, Royal Eagles, Ajax Cape Town, Mbombela United, TS Sporting, Jomo Cosmos, TS Galaxy and Uthongathi FC.

The Nedbank Cup Qualification to the round of 32:

SAFA Teams: Eight Clubs qualify

GladAfrica Championship: Eight Clubs qualify

Absa Premiership: Automatic qualification (All Clubs)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *