Notoane names 25-man squad for UAE camp


South Africa Under-23 National team coach David Notoane has named a 25-man squad to participate in a tournament in the United Arab Emirates.

South Africa is set to do battle against Brazil, South Korea and Argentina. The tournament will take place from the fifth to the 11th of June 2021.

The event is part of the U23’s preparations for the rescheduled Tokyo Olympic games set to take centre stage from the 22nd of July to the eighth of August.

South Africa is in Group A together with hosts Japan who they play on the 22nd of July at the Tokyo Stadium and France who they meet at Saitama Stadium three days later. David Notoane’s side then round off their group stage matches against Mexico at the Sapporo Dome on the 28th of July.

This will be the fourth preparation camp for Notoane’s charges ahead of the Tokyo Olympics and the coach has emphasized that his aim going into the UAE camp will be to assess how overseas based players integrate with local players.

“The upcoming camp in Dubai is one that kick-starts our preparations for the Olympic Games. It is also aimed at integrating our foreign based players to see what they can bring into the group in terms of increasing the team quality and addressing key challenging positions,” said Notoane.

“We hope that we can get all the players that we require to integrate them during this vital preparation camp against Brazil, Korea and Argentina.  It will also give us a good measure in terms of the level of our players’ state of preparedness for the Tokyo Olympics later in July.’’

Notoane said he was looking forward to the Olympic games and reckons the local and overseas-based players have what it takes to do the country proud.

The likes of Teboho Mokoena, Sfiso Ngobeni, Sipho Mbule, Sibusiso Mabiliso and Sfiso Mlungwana are not included because they will be involved with their DStv Premiership clubs during this period.


1. Mondli Mpoto (Bloemfontein Celtic FC)

2. Lincoln Vyver (Cape Town Spurs FC)

3. Ricardo Goss (Mamelodi Sundowns FC)


4. Tercious Malepe (FC Minaj, Ukraine)

5. Katlego Mohamme (University of Pretoria FC)

6. Thendo  Mukumela (Cape Town Spurs FC)

7. Luke Fleurs (Supersport Utd FC)

8. Bongani Sam (Orlando Pirates FC)

9. Keanu Cupido (Cape Town City FC)

10. Kamogelo Mahlangu (TS Galaxy FC)


11. Luke Le Roux (Varbergs BoIS FC, Sweden)

12. Thabo Cele (Cova da Piedade, Portugal)

13. Khanya Leshabela (Liecester City FC, England)

14. Athenkosi Dlala (University of Pretoria FC)

15. Neo Gift Links (Aarhus GF, Denmark)

16. Kobamelo Kodisang (Sporting Braga FC, Portugal)

17. Nkosingiphile Ngcobo (Kaizer Chiefs FC)

18. Sphephelo Sithole (Os Belenenses AD, Portugal)

19. Promise Mkhuma (Mamelodi Sundowns FC)


20. Fagrie Lakay (Cape Town City)

21. Siyabonga Ligendza (Cardiff City FC, England)

22. Luther Singh (FC Pacos de Ferreira, Portugal)

23. Keletso Makgalwa (Mamelodi Sundowns FC)

24. Lyle Foster (Vitoria Guimares FC, Portugal)

25. Liam Jordan (FC Helsingor, Denmark).

RELATED ARTICLE: It’s a tough draw but a good draw: Notoane

By Prince Sobayeni

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *