Patrick Mabedi names ‘Junior Flames’ COSAFA squad


Malawi U20 national team coach Patrick Mabedi has named the final 20-man squad for the upcoming COSAFA Cup to be held in South Africa (Port Elizabeth) from the 3rd to the 13th of December 2020.

The Football Association of Malawi released a statement wishing the team well as they go to do battle in the regional tournament which also acts as a zonal qualifier for the 2021 AFCON in Mauritania. 

Speaking to the official website of the association the former Kaizer Chiefs captain feels this is a perfect opportunity for the country to prove their worth amongst the best in the region.

“We have been in camp for three weeks and the boys have been working hard and we are impressed with our preparations. So far, we believe that the boys that have made it into the final squad are ready to play. If they perform just as they have been doing during training, we are going to do well,” said Mabedi.  

“The tournament is very crucial and we are going to face good teams that have been doing well in the past. We are going there as underdogs and we need to use that tag as our weapon.” 

The coach feels they have prepared well and the possibilities of going all the way in the tournament are very high.

“We have different people in the setup with a different team and different approach. We are going with a purpose and will take each game at a time and for now focus on Comoros in our first game which is very important. I would be proud if we win this trophy and qualify for the AFCON,” he concluded.

Malawi are in Group B alongside Zambia, Namibia and Comoros. They will begin their tournament with a clash against Comoros on Friday the 4th of December, before facing Namibia three days later in the second group game and they will later take on Zambia on the 19th of December in the final encounter of the group stage. 



Hastings Banda (Kamuzu Barracks), Emmance Nyirenda (Blue Sporting FC) 


Believe June (Wizard FC), Innocent Shema (Silver Strikers), Blessings Mpokera (Nyasa Big Bullets Reserve), Hadji Wali (Silver Strikers), Joseph Balakasi (Ntopwa FC), Andrew Sikoa (Kafue Celtic), Yamikani Mologeni (Nyasa Big Bullets Reserve)


Tathedwa Willard (Ascent Academy), Zebron Kalima (Silver Strikers), David Daudi (Nyasa Big Bullets Reserve), Emmanuel Savieli (Nyabhingi Warriors), Aubrey Maloya (Be Forward Wanderers), Stanley Biliati (Nyasa Big Bullets), Maxwell Paipi (Silver Strikers) 


Chikondi Mbeta (Maggie Chombo Academy), Lanjesi Nkhoma (Nyasa Big Bullets Reserve), Zizwa Mcpetrie Hanjahanja (Alicante Football Academy- Spain), Patrick Mwaungulu (Nyasa Big Bullets Reserve). 

RELATED ARTICLE: The best football academies in Malawi

By Prince Sobayen 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *