PSL Awards: Themba Zwane makes a clean sweep


As expected, Mamelodi Sundowns midfielder Themba Zwane swept the boards at the Premier Soccer League (PSL) awards on Thursday evening in Randburg, Johannesburg as he walked away with an impressive hat-trick of accolades following an incredible 2019/20 season.

Zwane bagged the coveted Absa Premiership Footballer of the Season, which came with R250 000 in prize money, beating the challenge of teammate Gaston Sirino, ex-Highlands Park star Peter Shalulile and Kaizer Chiefs’ Samir Nurkovic. The Premiership coaches vote for this particular award.

The Sundowns star punched above his weight last season as he also got his fellow players’ vote for another gong, the Absa Premiership Players’ Player of the Season as well as the Midfielder of the Season award.

Zwane’s 2019/20 stats: 41 matches, 14 goals and 12 assists.

The 31-year-old was not the only winner from Sundowns on Thursday night as his captain Hlompho Kekana, teammates in Gaston Sirino, Keletso Makgalwa as well as his former coach Pitso Mosimane also took top honours.

Kekana won the Absa Premiership Goal of the Season, Mosimane was voted Coach of the Season while Sirino and Makgalwa walked away with the Telkom Knockout Player of the Season and Nedbank Cup Most Promising Player respectively after the Brazilians completed a historic treble last season – winning the league, the Telkom Knockout and the Nedbank Cup.

Kekana’s thunderbolt against Cape Town City in August 2019 was voted by the public as the Goal of the Season.

Meanwhile, in other awards, Rushine De Reuck of Maritzburg United was voted Defender of the Season.

Baroka FC’s Goodman Mosele won the PSL Young Player of the Season with SuperSport United striker Bradley Grobler taking home the Last Man Standing in the MTN8.

Victor Letsoalo of Bloemfontein Celtic was voted as the Nedbank Cup Player of the Tournament.

Orlando Pirates striker Gabadinho Mhango and former Highlands hitman Shalulile shared the Top Goalscorer of the Season award, both ending the 2019/20 campaign on 16 goals.

When it came to the match officials, Jelly Chavani won the Referee of the Season award while Shaun Olive took the Assistant gong.


Footballer of the Season (R250 000) – Themba Zwane (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Absa Premiership Player’s Player of the Season (R200 000) – Themba Zwane (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Absa Premiership Coach of the Season (R75 000) – Pitso Mosimane (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Absa Premiership Young Player of the Season (R50 000) – Goodman Mosele (Baroka FC)

Absa Premiership Goalkeeper of the Season (R50 000) – Ronwen Williams (SuperSport United)

Absa Premiership Defender of the Season (R50 000) – Rushine De Reuck (Maritzburg United)

Absa Premiership Midfielder of the Season (R50 000) – Themba Zwane (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Absa Premiership Goal of the Season (R50 000) – Hlompho Kekana (Mamelodi Sundowns vs Cape Town City) – 20 August 2019

Absa Premiership Top Goalscorer (50 000) – Peter Shalulile (Highlands Park) – Gabadinho Mhango (Orlando Pirates)

MTN8 Last Man Standing (R80 000) – Bradley Grobler (SuperSport United)


GladAfrica Championship Top Goalscorer (R50 000) – Abednego Mosiatlhaga (Ajax Cape Town)


Knockout Player of the Tournament (R200 000) – Gaston Sirino (Mamelodi Sundowns)


Nedbank Cup – Most Promising Player (R50 000) – Keletso Makgalwa (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Nedbank Cup Player of the Tournament (R150 000) – Victor Letsoalo (Bloemfontein Celtic)


The referee of the Season – Jelly Chavani (R50 000)

Assistant Referee of the Season – Shaun Olive (40 000)

PSL Chairman’s Awards Recipients by Dr Irvin Khoza

Stan Mathews, Pitso Mosimane and Alvin Naicker

RELATED STORY: Zwane named Football Journalists’ Men’s Footballer of the Season

By Tokelo Martin Mokhesi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *