The PSL’s most decorated players


The “trophies are only lifted in May” quote will be wrong for once this season, after the PSL resolved to move the last day of the 2020/21 league season to June.
It’s only a technicality, however, in an already unusual year. A league title was lifted in September, an MTN8 trophy in December and another league in June. The players won’t really mind when they get their medals – as long as they get their just reward for the toughest season in recent memory.
After TTM won their first trophy last week, Sundowns need just one more win to lift yet another PSL title.
But which players lead the trophy count in PSL history?
For reference:
League Cup – Rothmans Cup, Coca-Cola Cup & Telkom Knockout.
FA Cup – Bob Save Super Bowl, ABSA Cup, Nedbank Cup
Top 8 – BP Top 8, SAA Top 8, MTN8
League – CASTLE Premiership, ABSA Premiership & now DSTV Premiership.
15 – Daine Klate
Klate leads the medal winners in the PSL era, having won 15 medals in his time at three different clubs. The winger won four Top 8 titles, two League Cups, three FA Cups and six League titles in a career that took him to four different clubs. Although Klate only made his official club debut on 24 October 2004, he was still part of the squad that won the MTN8 three weeks earlier. Klate is the only player to win PSL titles with three different clubs, including five in a row between 2008 and 2012.
14 – Thabo Mooki
A one-club man, Thabo Mooki won 14 trophies with Kaizer Chiefs in his playing career, starting with the Rothmans Cup in 1997. He was one of only six players that played in every game in that competition that season, although he didn’t find the net. Altogether, Mooki won three Top8 titles, six League Cups, two FA Cups, two League titles and one African Cup Winners Cup. Mooki won the League Cup under all three different sponsors – Rothmans, Coca-Cola and Telkom.
14 – Anthony Laffor

The Liberian international has won 14 trophies in his South African career, and could have added a 15th last weekend had Chippa beaten TTM in the Nedbank Cup final. Laffor scored in the quarter-finals of the tournament, meaning he’s netted at least one goal in 15 different PSL seasons since his first goal for Jomo Cosmos in 2005/06. His collection of trophies include two FA Cups, three League Cups, seven league titles and two CAF (Champions League & Super Cup). His first trophy was the 2005 Coke Cup & was one of six players who played every game for Cosmos in that run. Laffor has never won the Top 8, the only domestic trophy that has eluded him.
13 – Gerald Sibeko
Sibeko made his debut as a sub for Kaizer Chiefs in October 2000 against Tembisa Classic, but had to wait until the end of the season for his second appearance against Manning Rangers, where he scored his first goal as a sub. His early years at the club coincided with Chiefs’ dominance of the League Cup – and it’s no wonder then, Sibeko was part of the trophy laden years. He was in six League Cup winning squads, adding two league titles, three Top8 trophies, one FA Cup and a CAF Cup Winners Cup. A bit part player, he didn’t play in some of the tournaments when he was younger, but is included as he was a member of the squads & had made his official debut already.
13 – Denis Onyango
The Ugandan keeper is on the verge of joining the 14-trophy club and could equal Dane Klate should he win both the league and CAF Champions League this season. Onyango won three successive league titles at both SuperSport and Sundowns (seven altogether), and has also won two League Cups, two FA Cups and two CAF titles in his time at the two clubs. He’s already equalled a Sundowns record for league clean sheets in a single season (15), is guaranteed the PSL Golden Glove for the season and could add a new PSL record as well: Onyango needs two clean sheets to equal the PSL era record for clean sheets in a season (17 by Moeneeb Josephs in 2010).
13 – Hlompho Kekana

Kekana is another player also on the verge of winning his 14th (or even 15th) medal. Sundowns need one win in their last four games to wrap up an 11th PSL title, and could do that with a win over SuperSport on the 26th of May. Kekana won his first trophy with Onyango in 2009 at SuperSport, and has now won seven league titles, two FA and League Cups, and two CAF cups in the last 12 years. The Top 8 trophy has evaded him in that time, but it won’t matter if he wins the last two medals of the season. No player has won more PSL league titles than Kekana (7 like Laffor & Onyango).
Other players
12 medals – Arthur Zwane, Brian Baloyi, Tebogo Langerman
11 medals – Tiyani Mabunda, David Kannemeyer, Kennedy Mweene, Kaizer Motaung Jr.
By Opta Jabu

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *