Record-breaking Europa triumph for Sevilla


Spanish side Sevilla continued with their impressive Europa League track record when they defeated Inter Milan 3-2 to win this year’s final on Friday night in Cologne, Germany.

A first-half brace by Luuk de Jong and a late winner by Brazilian striker Diego Silva secured Sevilla their sixth Europa title.

Inter’s goals came via a penalty by Romelu Lukaku and Diego Godin.

The other Europa titles for Julen Lopetegui side came in 2006, 2007, 2014, 2015 and in 2016.

RELATED STORY: Sevilla star Fernando dedicates win over Betis to fans

By Ofhani Munyai

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *