Rohr names strong squad for Afcon qualifiers


Nigeria coach Gernot Rohr has named a strong squad for the upcoming Afcon qualification games against Lesotho and Benin.

As he explained last month, the German technician has stuck with bulk of the team that he selected for the double-header against Siera Leone last year. Nigeria need a win in either of their remaining two matches to progress to the continental showpiece in Cameroon next year.

Although there is a lot of debate and chaos surrounding players based in the United Kingdom, the German has named a number of England-based players in his squad. Everton’s Alex Iwobi, Fulham’s Ola Aina and Leicester City duo Kelechi Iheanacho and Wilfried Ndidi all made the cut.

After recovering from two serious injuries, Napoli striker Victor Osimhen retains his place in the team, but the most surprising inclusion is that of winger Ahmed Musa who has been without a club since last year October.

Nigeria opened their campaign with two victories against Benin at home and Lesotho away. The Super Eagles were then underfire for drawing with Siera Leone twice last November. This includes a 4-4 draw where the three-time African champions allowed Siera Leone to come back from four goals down to get a draw in Nigeria.

Full squad.


Francis Uzoho (APOEL Nicosia, Cyprus), John Noble (Enyimba FC), Maduka Okoye (Sparta Rotterdam, Netherlands).


Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain), Leon Balogun (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland), Chidozie Awaziem (Boavista, Portugal), William Troost-Ekong (Watford, England), Olaoluwa Aina (Fulham FC, England), Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn, Germany), Zaidu Sanusi (Porto, Portugal), Tyronne Ebuehi (Twente, Netherlands).


Oghenekaro Etebo (Galatasaray, Turkey), Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England), Abdullahi Shehu (Omonia Nicosa, Cyprus), Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland), Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England).


Ahmed Musa (Unattached), Alex Iwobi (Everton, England), Sadiq Umar (Almeria, Spain), Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal, Spain), Victor Osimhen (Napoli, Italy), Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England), Samuel Kalu (Girondins Bordeaux, France), Moses Simon (Nantes, France).


Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa), Henry Onyekuru (Galatasaray, Turkey), Peter Olayinka (Slavia Praha, Czech Republic), Terem Moffi (Lorient, France); Paul Onuachu (KRC Genk, Belgium), Michael Olise (Reading, England), Adekunle Adeleke (Abia Warriors).

RELATED ARTICLE: Rohr backs Nigerian duo for Scottish title

By Prince Sobayeni

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *