SA U23s facing problems

Share can confirm that trouble is brewing for U23 coach, David Notoane.

While Notoane has announced the squad to represent the country at the U23 Africa Cup of Nations from 8-22 November, overseas clubs will not release the players on time.

As a point of departure, Belgian side Cercle Brugge have made it clear in a letter to SA Football Association (SAFA) that they “cannot release Mr. Lyle Foster outside the FIFA calendar dates which in November take place between the 11th and 19th November… the player can therefore be released from 11th to 19th November.”

This was Cercle Brugge’s response to SAFA’s request that the player be released to report for camp on October 27 in Johannesburg.

“We shall endeavour to return the player to the club after our last match in the tournament,” wrote SAFA’s chief executive Russell Paul, who has since resigned.

SA’s first match in the tournament is on November 9 against Zambia and as things stand, Foster will not be available for that match, because Cercle Brugge say they can only release him on November 11.

Kobamelo Kodisang of Sporting Braga is one of the overseas-based players in the squad.

In fact, Foster may possibly also miss the next match against Ivory Coast on November 12.

He’s not the only one affected, however.

SA’s first match is against Zambia on November 9. has been informed that other overseas-based players could also be affected.

This includes Luther Singh and Kobamelo Kodisang who are both playing in Portugal.

The semifinals will be played on November 19, the last day of the FIFA international break.

The third-place playoff and final will take place on November 22 and in this case, the above-mentioned players may have returned to their overseas clubs.

The top three finishers in the tournament will represent the African continent in the 2020 Tokyo Olympics.



20 Mondli MPOTO Bloemfontein Celtic FC (SA)

16 Darren JOHNSON Ajax Town FC (SA)

1 Andile MBANJWA Richards Bay FC (SA)


7 Keagan JOHANNES Ajax Cape Town FC (SA)

14 Siyabonga NGEZANA Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)

18 Thendo MUKUMELA Ajax Cape Town FC (SA)

17 Thabiso MONYANE Orlando Pirates FC (SA)

13 Happy MASHIANE Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)

15 Tercious MALEPE (c) Chippa United FC (SA)

3 Katlego MOHAMME University of Pretoria FC (SA)

21 Keanu CUPIDO Cape Town City FC (SA)


12 Sipho MBULE Supersport United FC (SA)

5 Athenkosi DLALA University of Pretoria FC (SA)

19 Kobamelo KODISANG FC Braga B (PORTUGAL)

6 Kamohelo MAHLATSI University of Pretoria FC (SA)

8 Grant MAGERMAN Ajax Cape Town FC (SA)

4 Teboho MOKOENA Supersport United FC (SA)

11 Luther SINGH Moreirense FC (PORTUGAL)


10 Phakamani MAHLAMBI Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)

9 Lyle FOSTER Cercle Brugge K.S.V (BELGIUM)

2 Itumeleng SHOPANE Swallows FC (SA)

By Tiyani wa ka Mabasa

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *