Safa miss deadline for submission of referees’ nominees


The Premier Soccer League (PSL) announced the winners of the 2021 PSL awards on Sunday evening in a pre-recorded TV broadcast due to the Covid-19 regulatory framework.

But unlike previous seasons, this year’s awards excluded the winners of the match officials.

It turns out the South African Football Association (Safa) did not meet the deadline to submit the nominees and winners for the referee and assistant referee categories in time for the recorded event.

The PSL released a statement prior to the event, clarifying why there would not be awards for the match officials segment.

This publication has it on good authority that the association only submitted their nominees on Saturday night, a day before the event, while the deadline was for last week Saturday.

SAFA CEO, Tebogo Motlanthe could not be reached for a comment

Meanwhile, FARPost has seen the list of the nominated match officials for the 2020/21 season.

Referees: Thando Ndzandzeka, Victor Gomes and Victor Hlungwani.

Assistant referees: Moeketsi Molelekoa, Shaun Olive and Athenkosi Ndongeni.

*Olive passed on recently following a car accident.

RELATED STORY: Shalulile wins big PSL award

By Ofhani Munyai

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *