SAFJA’s Footballer of the Season award nominees announced


The South African Football Journalists’ Association (SAFJA) have revealed the shortlisted five nominees for its first-ever Men’s Footballer of the Season award.

The winner of the 2019/20 award of Footballer of the Season will be announced on Tuesday via an online function.

The nominees are: Hlompho Kekana (Mamelodi Sundowns), Peter Shalulile (Highlands Park), Lebogang Manyama (Kaizer Chiefs), Themba Zwane (Mamelodi Sundowns) and Samir Nurkovic (Kaizer Chiefs).

In other countries such as England, the award by the football journalists association is esteemed and highly regarded.

The SA Journalists’ Association was formed on 10 May 2020 and has grown in just over four months from 20 initial members to the current 108.

“The winner of SAFJA’s men’s award will receive a trophy, a photo collage of their 2019/20 season, and media training for an amateur club of their choice,” SAFJA said in a statement released on Saturday.

“The five nominees were voted for by SAFJA’s executive committee and four TV football commentators who are members of the association. The members of the 108-strong SAFJA voted for the winner.”

RELATED STORY: Mulaudzi crowned Safja Women’s Footballer of the Year

By FARPost Reporter 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *