Sekhukhune release 18 players including Pirates trio


Sekhukhune United made big changes to their squad as they released 18 players.

The newly-promoted DStv Premiership side has been dominating transfer news of late with 17 new signings as they prepare for their first season in the Premiership.

But now they have decided to let go of some of their players to make room for the new arrivals, such as Willard Katsande and Thabo Rakhale.

In a statement, ‘Babina Noko’ confirmed that on-loan Orlando Pirates trio of Katlego Cwinyane, Wandile Bophela, Andile Bophela, and Tshepo Mofokeng have returned to their parent club, while Sibusiso Mzilazi is heading back to Kaizer Chiefs.

The Limpopo side sealed promotion to the top-flight after winning the GladAfrica Championship on the final day of last season.

Thabang Mokoena, Thulani Ndlela, Noko Malekana, Simphiwe Hlongwane, Tshepo Makgoga, Pentjie Zulu, Junior Awono, Walter Musona, MacClive Phiri, Thabo Motlafi, and Sifiso Mbhele have all been released.

Meanwhile, Siphumelele Mbulu and Ntokozo Mtshweni have been loaned out to GladAfrica newcomers, Venda Football Academy.

Sekhukhune will open their 2021/22 DStv Premiership campaign at home against Chippa United at Makhulong Stadium on August 21.

RELATED STORYZESCO confirm duo’s move to Sekhukhune

By FAPPost Reporter