Simba Queens retain Tanzania Women Premier League title


Simba Queens won 1-0 on the final day to finish one point ahead of their arch-rivals Yanga Princess.

The side got the better of Baobao Queens in Dodoma this past weekend to win Tanzania Women’s League title for the second time in a row, thanks to Aisha Jaffar’s solo goal.

However, the competition was very tight this season as their counterparts, Yanga Princess kept the fight until the final breath.

Simba won the title with 54 points, having secured their first league trophy last season.

Yanga striker Aisha Masaka scored five goals in her side’s 6-0 win over Alliance, to win the golden boot for the top scorer with 35 goals, followed by Simba’s Oppah Clement with 27 goals.

Meanwhile, Mapinduzi Queens and ES Unyanyembe were relegated to the lower division after finishing at the bottom of the table.

By FARPost Reporter

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *