Simba SC crowned VPL champions for a third consecutive season


Simba SC have been crowned the champions of the 2019/20 Vodacom Premier League (VPL) for the third consecutive season on Sunday at Sokoine Stadium in Mbeya town after their goalless draw against Tanzania Prisons.

The Tanzanian football giants only needed a point against Prisons to retain their title with 79 points from 32 matches, 19 points ahead of second-placed Yanga while Azam in third place are sitting on 59 points.

The ‘Wekundu wa Msimbazi’ clinched their 21st title with six games to spare and the club’s Chief Executive Officer (CEO) Senzo Mbatha took to social media to congratulate the team for their achievement.

“A huge congratulations to the Vodacom Premier League (VPL) Champions Simba SC, the players and technical bench under Sven Vandenbroeck direction. Well done Coach. To all players, you have done the club proud and you continue to write your own history in this prestigious club called Simba, Hongereni Nyote,” said Mbatha.

“Congratulations to Simba SC Tanzania family under the leadership of our board chairman Mohammed Dewji Mo and his board members, management, trustees, members and spiritual owners of this Movement called Simba to all our partners and stakeholders in business and government congrats.

“Simba fans and supporters, your love for Mnyama is unprecedented – let’s turn our attention to the FA Cup and what’s left of the League,” concluded Mbatha.

“Our squad is back in Dar es Salaam in preparation for Azam FC in the FA Cup quarter-final match in July at the National Stadium.”

RELATED STORY: Klopp: Winning the League is for you out there

By Tokelo Martin Mokhesi 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *