STATS: The All-Time PSL Table


In the last few weeks, we have covered PSL history with four statistical articles that analysed the South African PSL era.

Throughout the month of April, we looked at the early years when Mamelodi Sundowns dominated and followed that up with 2003 – 2008, covering Kaizer Chiefs’ first few titles and SuperSport United’s first title.

We went on to 2009 – 2014, a happy period for Orlando Pirates and later Chiefs, and finally 2015 – 2020 – the resurgence of Sundowns under Pitso Mosimane. These were all summary pieces, featuring the best and worst starts in six-year cycles, as we had to squeeze in 24 years of football into a series of articles.

Last week, we also published a PSL History Quiz and a video of the top ten goal scoring teams. The top ten scoring teams, in particular, showed some interesting findings. Teams like Santos and Moroka Swallows are still in the Top 10 of goal-scoring teams, in spite of the fact that both teams have not participated in top-flight league competition for the better part of the last decade.

Santos were relegated in 2012, and Moroka Swallows were relegated more recently in 2015.

Many fans have wondered where their teams rank in the overall picture, with questions asked on who has conceded the most goals, and who has the best goal difference, among other things.

AmaZulu, for instance, have been around since the PSL’s inception in 1996, although they have been relegated on a few occasions, and undergone name/franchise changes. They are 12th on the goalscoring charts, and are one of only eight current top-flight sides with more than 500 goals. To summarise all these, we have put together an all-time league table for the PSL, featuring every team and where they rank in the bigger picture.

All-Time PSL table: Top Half

As shown in the top half of the table, Sundowns retain top spot in the all-time PSL table, closely followed by Chiefs and Pirates, while SuperSport round up the Top Four. These four sides have won a combined 20 of the 23 championships since 1996. As such, this top four order should come as no surprise.

4 – Sundowns, Pirates, Chiefs and SuperSport are the only four PSL clubs that have participated in every season since the PSL was established in 1996.

Ironically, the same four sides currently occupy the top four positions in the 2019/20 league table, although in different positions.

All-Time PSL table: Bottom Half

8 – Only eight PSL sides have a positive all-time goal difference, including Cape Town City. The Citizens, founded in 2016, have the 6th highest goal difference of all time.

At the bottom of the table, we find Mother City, although they only played one season – 1999/2000, picking up a record lowest 10 points, and conceding a record 85 goals.

*With PSL history, it is important to note there have been name changes and franchise sales over the years. We tried to keep the same name where a team name was just changed (e.g Wits University and Bidvest Wits), while we split the results for franchise changes (e.g Tembisa Classic and Maritzburg United).


By Opta Jabu 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *