Sundowns Ladies to know their opponents in CAF


Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies will find out their group opponents in the continental stage next week.

Sundowns will be representing COSAFA after winning the regional tournament that was held in Durban.

They are the three-time winners of the South African Women’s Championship.

The TotalEnergies CAF Women’s Champions League, Egypt 2021 draw will be conducted on Wednesday, 29 September 2021.

The draw will be live on CAF’s YouTube page from 17:00 Cairo local time (15:00 GMT).

The draw will map the road of the eight (8) clubs participating in the tournament scheduled from 5th to 19th November 2021.

The teams will be divided into two groups of four teams each. The top two from each group will advance to the semi-finals.

As the zone holder of the previous Women’s AFCON 2018, and in accordance to the competition regulations as home of current champions of Women’s AFCON, WAFU B will have two representatives.

WAFU B will be represented by Hasaacas Ladies FC (Ghana), who are the winners of the regional qualifiers.

They are four-time winners of Ghanaian League (2013, 2014, 2015, 2021) and won the 2021 National Cup.

Rivers Angels from Nigeria will be the second club from to represent WAFU B. They finished as runners-up of the regional qualifiers.

Other qualified teams:

WAFU A will be represented by AS Mande from Mali who won the first two editions of Mali women’s First Division league (2017, 2021) and the National Cup four times (2012, 2014, 2015, 2016).

CECAFA will pin their hopes on Vihiga Queens FC from Kenya. The Kenyan side have enjoyed dominance in their domestic competition winning Kenya Women’s Premier League (FKF WPL) in 2017, 2018 and 2019.

Another region that will have two clubs is UNAF with ASFAR FC of (Morocco) and Wadi Degla FC of  Egypt.

Wadi Degla FC gained automatic qualification as hosts of the tournament. The Egyptian club won its 12th domestic title (Women’s Premier League) this year.

Malabo King FC from Equatorial Guinea will be the representatives UNIFFAC. They are the title holder of Equatorial Guinea’s Primera Division Femenina (Women’s National League) and TNO Cup, they won UNIFFAC’s regional qualifiers.

By Wonga Sirayi

FARPost’s KZN Reporter