Two Africans nominated for FIFA Award


FIFA has revealed the nominees for the Best FIFA Men’s Player award and two of Africa’s finest talents have made the eleven men short list.

Liverpool duo Sadio Mane and Mohammed Salah are the two representatives of the African continent who have made the list. The two have been instrumental for the English side in the past year after helping the club win its first English Premier League title in 30 years and they shared the Golden Boot award with Arsenal’s Pierre Emerick Aubameyang, who is another African player doing great things in Europe.

All three players were tied on 22 goals each and it was for the first time in history that the award was shared amongst three Africans.


It is going to be a tough contest for Mane and Salah as they are competing with the best players in world football.

Cristiano Ronaldo of Juventus and his rival in the past decade Lionel Messi have also made the list while youngster Kylian Mbappe continues to fight for his place amongst the elite stars in the world.

Mane and Salah have had a good few years even in the continental awards the two have recently been the two finalists for the African Footballer of the Year award with the Senegalese talisman walking away with the Golden Ball in the last awards.

Liverpool has seen a new generation of players that has taken the world by storm and in the past two years have won the UEFA Champions League and the English Premier League to bring back glory days to Anfield.

With Mane’s leadership Senegal also managed to reach the AFCON 2019 final but they narrowly lost 1-0 against Algeria.



Thiago Alcântara (Spain, FC Bayern München, Liverpool) 

Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal, Juventus) 

Kevin De Bruyne (Belgium, Manchester City) 

Robert Lewandowski (Poland, FC Bayern München) 

Sadio Mane (Senegal, Liverpool) 

Kylian Mbappé (France, Paris Saint-Germain) 

Lionel Messi (Argentina, FC Barcelona) 

Neymar (Brazil /Paris Saint-Germain) 

Sergio Ramos (Spain, Real Madrid CF) 

Mohamed Salah (Egypt, Liverpool) 

Virgil van Dijk (Netherlands, Liverpool) 

The award ceremony will be taking place on the 17th of December and FARPost wishes all the candidates all the best.

RELATED ARTICLE: Kekana nominated for Fifa Puskas award again

By Prince Sobayeni

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *