VUT to host ABC Motsepe League national play-offs


The 2019/20 ABC Motsepe League National Play-offs will be played in Gauteng, the Vaal University of Technology (VUT) from 9-15 November 2020.

The draw was conducted on Thursday afternoon at SAFA House in Johannesburg and was attended by all nine clubs that will participate in the play-offs as well as SAFA vice-president and chair of the SAFA Competitions Committee, Mr Gladwyn White, SAFA CEO, Advocate Tebogo Motlanthe and Motsepe Foundation representative, Mr Peter Ledwaba.

Nine provincial winners will battle it out for the right to be called Champions of Champions and the finalists will gain automatic promotion to the GladAfrica Championship.

The teams have been drawn in three groups.

SAFA confirmed that no team will be relegated from the ABC Motsepe League this season, meaning the 9 regional leagues will have 18 teams each next campaign.

The association also announced that the transfer and registration window will close at the end of November, to afford the teams enough time to recruit players.

On the opening day, Pretoria Callies will take on Zizwe United FC on 9 November and this encounter will be followed by that of Mangaung Unite against Bizana Pondo Chiefs while Umvoti FC’s match with Hungry Lions will round off the day’s proceedings.

The following day, Bizana Pondo Chiefs will clash against Mikhado FC with the match followed by that of Hungry Lions and FC Mpumalanga United while Zizwe United FC and Polokwane City Rovers will bring the day’s proceedings to an end.

On 11 November, FC Mpumalanga United will tackle Umvoti, Polokwane City will meet Pretoria Callies while Mikhado FC will engage Mangaung Unite.

The semi-finals will take place on 12 November with the final scheduled for 14 November at the Vaal University of Technology Stadium.

RELATED STORY: SAFA declares ABC Motsepe current standings final

By FARPost Reporter 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *