When does the transfer window open in 2020?


The summer transfer window in 2020 will take on a different look, with the English Premier League no longer closing its window before the season begins in early August.

Clubs are still able to sign players as free agents after the deadline, and as long as they are not officially attached to any club when the window closes.

Premier League transfer deadline

For the past two seasons, the Premier League transfer window closed on the Thursday before the first game of the season.

But clubs were unhappy with the rest of Europe being able to trade while their window was shut, so they have voted to revert to the old transfer system.

The window will officially open on June 10, 2020, though many deals will not become official until July 1.

However, due to a quirk of the calendar, this summer the Premier League will actually trade for an extra 24 hours compared to the rest of Europe. Aug. 31 is a public holiday in England this year, so the window will close at 5 p.m. BST (noon ET) on Tuesday, Sept. 1.

NB: The information in this page is correct at the current time. However, with football paused due to the coronavirus crisis and no date set for its return, it is highly likely this summer’s transfer window will have to be amended.

The winter window will run throughout January 2021 as usual.

La Liga transfer deadline

The window will officially open on July 1 and will close at 11:59 CET (6:59 p.m. ET) on Monday, Aug. 31.

Serie A transfer deadline

The market will open on July 1 and close on Monday, Aug. 31 (time TBC). It followed the Premier League’s lead by closing the day before the season began for one season in 2018.

Bundesliga transfer deadline

German clubs have set their transfer window deadline as 6:00 p.m. CET (noon ET) on Monday, Aug. 31. The window opens on July 1.

Ligue 1 transfer deadline

Ligue 1 will opened its window on June 9 and close it on Monday, Aug. 31 at 11:59 p.m. CET (6.59 ET).

MLS transfer deadline

Major League Soccer’s midseason window will run from July 7 to Wednesday, Aug. 5.

Other deadlines will appear when available, including SA’s Premier Soccer League.


Edited by Tiyani wa ka Mabasa

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *