Why Percy Tau deserves CAF nomination…


Bafana Bafana forward Percy Tau is the only South African player who has been nominated in the 55-player list for the 2019 CAF Team of the Year.

Tau had an outstanding year while at Belgian Second Division side Royale Union Saint-Gilloise and now Club Brugge, in Belgium’s topflight.

He’s been at the above-mentioned clubs on loan from English Premier League club, Brighton & Hove Albion.

After scoring 13 goals and boasting 13 assists from 35 matches, Tau was voted the Proximus League Player of the Year in Belgium’s second division for Union SG.

Tau was a crowd favourite at Union SG.

The 25-year-old has been a darling of the Club Brugge supporters since joining at the beginning of the season. Tau has netted 3 goals and has 6 assists in 17 matches across all competitions, including in the UEFA Champions League.

Tau has settled in well at Club Brugge.

The former Mamelodi Sundowns player also scored 4 goals for Bafana Bafana during the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers and was part of the Stuart Baxter team that was knocked out in the quarterfinals by Nigeria, in a tournament hosted by Egypt.

Maritzburg United goalkeeper Richard Ofori as well as Mamelodi Sundowns number 1 goalkeeper Denis Onyango are the only two South African-based players to make the list.



Moez Ben Cherifia, Yassine Bonnou, Mohamed El Shenaway, Sylvain, Gbohouo, Rais M’bolhi, Edouard Mendy, Richard Ofori, Andre Onana, Denis Onyango, Francis Uzoho


Youcef Atal, Serge Aurier, Mehdi Benatia, Ahmed El-Mohammadi, Lamine Gassama, Faouzi Ghoulam, Achraf Hakimi, Ahmed Hegazi, Kalidou Koilibaly, Christian Luyindama, Issa Mandi, Joel Matip, Noussair Mazraoui, Yassine Meriah, Youssouf Sabaly


Algeria’s Riyad Mahrez would certainly make the CAF XI after helping his country win the Africa Cup of Nations this year.

Andre-Frank Anguissa, Ismael Bennacer, Sofiane Feghouli, Idrissa Gueye, Tarek Hamed, Alex Iwobi, Wahbi Khazri, Naby Keita, Franck Kessie, Wilfried Ndidi, Riyad Mahrez, Thomas Partey, Mubarak Wakaso, Victor Wanyama, Hakim Ziyech


Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, Jordan Ayew, Anis Badri, Cedric Bakambu, Youcef Belaili, Baghdad Bounedjah, Odion Ighalo, Sadio Mane, Moussa Marega, Mbaye Niang, Nicolas Pepe, Mohamed Salah, Islam Slimani, Percy Tau, Wilfried Zaha

By Ofhani Munyai

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *