Young Warriors of Namibia coach announce Cosafa squad


The Young Warriors of Namibia coach James Britz has announced his final squad of 20 players for the 2020 Cosafa Men’s Under-20 Championship.

Namibia is making a return to the competition after missing out last year.

They have been drawn in a tough group that includes defending champions Zambia, Malawi and Comoros Islands.

The tournament will be staged in Nelson Mandela Bay, South Africa, from 3 – 13 December.

Only the top team from each of the three pools and the best-placed runner-up advance to the semifinal.

The Cosafa U-20 Championship will also act as a zonal qualifier for the 2021 Africa Under-20 Cup of Nations, with the two finalists set to advance to the continental showpiece that is scheduled to take place in Mauritania next year.

“Despite being drawn in a tough group with defending champions Zambia, I strongly believe the players we have in the current squad should be able to give us the results that we want,” said Britz on Monday.

“Our target is to reach the semi-finals with our game plan that will not be affected by how tough or strong the oppositions are.

“The boys are confident and the spirit in the team is very good. We however lost one key player because his documents were not ready but other than that the team is solid and good to go,” added Britz.

The Namibia coach went on to state that most of the boys in the setup come from the U-17 National Team that played at the Cosafa Cup.

Prins Tjueza who was the top goal scorer at that event is also in the mix.

The team will depart to South Africa on Tuesday and will play their first match on 4 December against Zambia followed by another match on the 7th against Malawi before concluding group stages on the 9th with Comoros.

The final Young Warriors squad:

Rogiano Goagoseb, Tully Nashixua, Immnauel Hamunyela, Promise Gurirab, Jovane Narib, Tuhafeni Ananias David.

Xavier Mcclune, Denzil Narib, Steven Damaseb, Prins Tjiueza, Edmar Kamatuka, Giovanni Kaninab.

Pitsi Ameb, Carl Tjipe Karuuombe, Junhino Jantze, Ronin Berendt, Ngazikue Kandetu, Romeo Amon, Ruhuka Ngatangwe and Amazing Kandjii.

RELATED STORY: Namibia FA snub CEP recommendations

By FARPost Reporter 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *